Street Art in Valparaiso

I had the incredible opportunity to visit a friend in Chile on my way home for the holidays and albeit short, it was an amazing trip.  Flying into Santiago, it took about an hour and a half bus ride to get to the beach town of Vina Del Mar where my friend was living, but we spent a considerable amount of time in neighboring Valparaiso.  ‘Valpo’ as it is often called, is a beautiful town on the hillside with stunning colors and architecture and most notably, intricate street art.  I was so floored by some of the details and vibrant images we came across that I found myself continuously apologizing for stopping and slowing us down to take pictures.  Luckily, it was just my friend and I with no agenda so we got to wander aimlessly as long as our hearts desired.  Also noteworthy while in Chile were all the incredible things we ate, but I never made it long enough to snap a picture before my inner fat kid got the best of me, whoops.  I’m looking at you, chorillanas, barros lucos, alfajors, empanadas, y sopaipillas.  It’s really a wonder I didn’t have to pay for an extra seat on the flight home.  Anyway, here are some photos of the amazing street art that stopped me in my tracks.

All the pretty colors! ...I'm a dork.

All the pretty colors! …I’m a dork.

IMG_4768

The detail in this one was stunning.

Even the stairs are painted!

Even the stairs are painted!

Twist on the classics.

Twist on the classics.

Don't mind the iron gate...

Don’t mind the iron gate…

owls :)

owls 🙂

...and another owl

…and another owl

VUELA!

VUELA!

Last but not least; under the sea :)

Last but not least; under the sea 🙂

If you find yourself in Chile, especially in Santiago, I highly recommend the trip to Valparaiso/Vina Del Mar.  Its a beautiful area where you will find a rich cultural experience with some incredible views.  My only regret is that I only had five days to spend exploring (and eating…) but that’s what return visits are for.  See you again soon, Chile!

15 responses to “Street Art in Valparaiso

  1. Pingback: Street Art in Valparaiso | Home Far Away From Home·

  2. Valpo looks STUNNING! What a delightful neighbourhood to explore – the stairs, the brightly coloured murals, the food – I want to see more! Or better still, go for myself!

    Haha I’m always apologising to the person I’m with for stopping and shooting too much!

    • Ha! Normally I’m exploring on my own so I never have to! Forgot what it was like and realized just how bad I was about stopping all the time…

      I think you should definitely add Chile to your upcoming travel list 🙂 just pack some loose fitting pants for potential weight gain lol thank god I was only there for 6 days!

    • Thanks so much! Banksy is definitely a favorite of mine, but he generally doesn’t use a wide color palette in his art. Valpo was just so vibrant!

      I’ll definitely check out the Picture the World Project- thanks for letting me know! 🙂

  3. So awesome! Thank you for sharing this with me. I love any good street art and unless it is a historical place, I think more cities should embrace sponsored graffiti artists! Bring in a splash of color to the concrete jungles.

    • No problem- glad you liked it! I absolutely love street art and I definitely agree with you- it can really spruce up otherwise drab surroundings. However, the rest of valpo is quite colorful as well so it’s just an added bonus 🙂

  4. I almost studied abroad in Valparaiso a few years ago, and it seems like a wonderful place. That is some really interesting street art that you found, thanks for sharing!

  5. beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing this glorious street art! ❤ p.s. I lived in Chile (Santiago) for 6 months and am in love with the country. Glad you got to experience it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

