Singapore MRT

I suck at public transportation. Actually, make that ‘I suck at nearly all forms of transportation‘. I’ve had panic attacks in cars, buses, planes, trains, subways…it’s actually a miracle that I don’t get seasick or this blog wouldn’t even exist. It’s not even just panic attacks that make me so incompetent; I simply turn into a 2 year old trying to figure out who’s got my nose when I am trying to get from point A to point B, besides in my hometown (after 24 years I’ve finally nailed it). I will literally pay a cab any amount of money to avoid having to figure out a new city’s public transportation system. Those transportation route guides look like alien markings, if you ask me. Well long story short, I’ve finally found a transportation system that is made for fools like me- the Singapore MRT.

a selfie... are you really that surprised?

a selfie… are you really that surprised?

I was reluctant at first to try it for myself, even after hearing success stories (yes, that’s what I call them) from others. When I have a day off, that time is precious and I don’t want to waste it getting lost on a bus and ending up using all of my brain power just to find my way back. After being in Singapore a couple months however, I was running out of ideas for my time off and thought that it was the perfect opportunity to try it out. Turns out, the Singapore MRT was made for me. It’s literally foolproof.

IMG_5205

When you get to a station, you click (CLICK!!) on your destination on a virtual map and it tells you how much the farecard will cost. No calculations? I’m down with that. Better yet, you wont end up paying more than $3 to go pretty much anywhere (hello cheapskates!). And if money is your concern, upon reaching your destination, you can insert your farecard back into the ticketing machine for a $1 refund. Cheap AND eco-friendly; what’s not to love?

IMG_5284

The stations and MRT cars are immaculate and there are electronic signs everywhere informing you of where to find the rail you need and how many minutes until the next one arrives. Once after getting out at a station there was even a sign that said how many steps (seriously, like one foot in front of the other) to the exit. You also wont run the risk of getting pushed onto the tracks (cough, NYC subway) as it is sealed off until the train arrives. It’s unreal.

Arrows telling you how to board? Is this real life?

Arrows telling you how to board? Is this real life?

Singapore is a small country and the MRT makes getting around and seeing it all a breeze. While I prefer to walk most places, the MRT comes in handy for quick and efficient travel. It’s comprehensive, dummy proof, cheap, clean and eco-friendly, earning it my seal of approval.

…Now back to tackle the Perth bus system in a week. UGH. (I’m the worst traveler ever).

12 responses to “Singapore MRT

  1. Nice post. I live in Beijing, and the subway system is pretty easy to navigate, even for first-timers. However, the buses are another matter. Most stations don’t have English translations for the routes, and that’s caused me to get horribly lost a couple times.

    Jimmy

    • Hey! Yeah I’d definitely take tackling an MRT system over figuring out bus routes… I just can’t help how bad I am with them. I can’t even imagine having to do that with Chinese characters as my guide- I might as well hop on a plane to Siberia because that’s where I’d end up anyway!

      Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Very informative and witty, #1
    Now that you’ve mastered this one, maybe more to come will seem less daunting. I found public xportation in Japan to be mostly intuitive and easy to navigate. And in Perth and Vancouver you’ll have language working with you at the same time. However, I agree that some (NYC, especially) can be a challenge even fer ‘murikens.
    ILY.D

    • In Perth it was the buses that got me. Even when I had thought I had mastered the one route I would take back and forth, I still found a way to muck it up on occasion… I’m cursed.

      ILYM,
      #1

  3. Haha I was just in Singapore last month and I found it SO incredibly easy to navigate! I loved riding their MRT, actually! It really reminded me of Hong Kong, actually, which is even easier!

    • Something tells me that I would end up in Turkey with border patrol staring me down if I even tried it there. If the official language doesn’t even use the same characters as the english alphabet, i’m a goner for sure.

  4. I lived in Singapore for a year and a half and then moved to Paris — and man was that a shock! I never appreciated the MRT until I experienced the ancient and terribly-smelly Paris metro. It really is a fabulous system in Singapore.

    • Oh man, I have dreamed of living in Paris practically my whole life (who hasn’t?) especially after studying french in college. I’m looking to study at La Sorbonne in a year or two but I’m right there with you- the Paris metro does NOT appeal to me. The smell probably wouldn’t bother me as much as the “ancient” aspect would; I’m terribly claustrophobic and breaking down underground is not my idea of a good time. Hopefully i’ll go when the weather is nice and rent a bike 🙂

Leave a Reply

