Running Around the World: 2012 Edition

One of my favorite ways to explore a new city is by running around it (literally).  Living on a boat, I jump at the chance to hit the pavement and just go.  Plus, I detest treadmills; running in place staring at a screen watching the seconds pass by and playing the don’t-look-at-your-neighbor’s-running-time-and-speed game is not my idea of a good time.  However, when you go for a nice long run in a new city/country not only does it burn cals, it allows you to discover new and interesting facets (also, it gives me the opportunity to have long and thoughtful dialogues with myself- I’m a great conversationalist).  Anyway, here are some of my favorite running spots from around the world in 2012.

 

Labrador Park, Singapore

After being docked in Bali all summer without a decent running path within reasonable distance, I was overjoyed when we arrived in Singapore to a nice paved running trail looping around our marina.  Labrador Park has beautiful gardens and memorable sunsets that made it one of my favorite places to end the day.  If you continue up into some of the wooded areas, you can also run up hidden stairs that will take you to picturesque lookouts and also lead you to historic battle sites and remains.  Just make sure you bring a water bottle- at about one degree north of the equator, the heat is no joke.

Nope, no rabid dogs chasing me here!

Nope, no rabid dogs chasing me here!

Swan River, Perth

Spending six months in Perth waiting for the boat to be ready, I became a big fan of the running trail along swan river.  It extends for miles along the waterfront and particularly there is a loop known as ‘the bridges’ which is about 10k and passes just in front of our apartment in the city (I enjoy convenience).  I would recommend waiting until shortly before sunset however, because the Australian sun is serious business.  Like in Singapore, a water bottle wouldn’t be the worst thing to keep with you.  The trail is well paved and the scenery is enjoyable, ranging from beaches, to parks, to stunning views of the city skyline.

Keeping on the lookout for Perth's famous black swans.

Keeping on the lookout for Perth’s famous black swans.

Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Okay, so I was in Ft. Lauderdale just before 2012 officially began, but it deserves to be on the list as well.  Running along the beach in Ft. Lauderdale was one of my top favorite places to run because the people watching is just grade A entertainment (the views ain’t so bad either).  Plus, it stretches for miles so you can just keep on keepin’ on as long as you little heart desires- just be ready to dodge skateboarders and rollerbladers.  If you haven’t noticed by now, these are all pretty warm places, so I mean, if you think the heat is going to make you thirsty- you know what to do.

I mean, it's not the worst view...

It’s not the worst view…

Anyone else like running in new cities? Tell me your favorites!

6 responses to “Running Around the World: 2012 Edition

  1. You’ve gotta post some impressions about HK even if your stay was incredibly short. I’d love to hear your thoughts about the place thirty years after I spent some amazing times there. Many changes I know (the largest being the end of British occupation, and reverting to Chinese rule). But the neatest parallel is that you were able to visit during the Chinese New Year, as was I back in the day, spent atop Mt Stanley overlooking HK and Kowloon, drink in hand, toasting the year of the whatever.. Happy V-day to my #1. Welcome back to the western hemisphere! ILY Dad

    • I plan on it- this piece was just ready to go already. Trying to make it a bit more interesting than just “this is what I did all day” so it’ll be a couple days until that’s finished. It’s nice being back on this side of the world, I can deal with our time difference much better and I’m really digging the pacific northwest scenery. trees and mountains after a couple years of straight summer is a lovely change of pace. Also, Dan and Trev have both reached out about visiting, so hoping to make that happen soon- can’t believe how close we are.

      Happy Valentine’s to my longest standing Valentine! ILYM

      FYI it’s the year of the snake now 🙂

  2. Ft. Lauderdale beach is definitely the place to run! I live right there…i love it! Hopefully I will have the opportunity to check out the other places you mentioned. Glad you are having an amazing time and enjoying life!!!

Leave a Reply

