How Not to Make Friends in Perth: Part 2

If you read my previous post about trying to make friends in Perth, you understand my frustration concerning the subject.  If not, let’s just say I had idealistic visions for my life down under which were mostly met with less than idealistic results in the first couple of months I spent there (Except for when it came to the place itself; summer in Perth is pretty up there with the best. Minus the sharks.).  It was surprisingly difficult making friends in Perth and I have a few ideas of why that was the case, but it’s more fun to tell you about all the ways I failed while trying (and embarrassed myself while doing so).

When I arrived in Perth, I became a frequent visitor of the local coffee shop, The Dome (Seriously, where do they come up with the names for these places? Or is my mind deeper in the gutter than most…?).  I had come to know a couple of the staff by name and they would often greet E and I with a warm hello when we would stop in for our daily coffee and story time.

I basically lived at this place my first couple months in Perth

I basically lived at this place my first couple months in Perth… Sometimes I amaze myself at how cool I can be.

In particular, there was a lovely girl whose name I can’t recall but it was distinctly Finnish as she was only in Perth on a working holiday visa.  I thought, hey, she must know what it’s like to be new; maybe we can be friends?

One day after ordering my iced coffee, minus whip cream, minus ice cream (it’s really complicated ordering a plain iced coffee in Perth), Finnish girl tells me it’s her last day as per the working holiday visa, you can only maintain one job for a maximum of six months at a time.

Come on people of Perth, listen to Yeats; be my friend.

Come on people of Perth, listen to Yeats; be my friend.

Sitting with E and my coffee, I thought, alright, here’s your chance to stop being a loner and finally have someone to hang out with.  So what did I do? I wrote down my name and number on a napkin to hand to her when we left.

Looking back, I just have to laugh because A) how cliche to write your phone number on a napkin, and B ) WAS I TRYING TO DATE HER?!?!

It seemed perfectly reasonable at the time (maybe it was just my state of desperation.  I bet she could smell it on me…) and when I handed the napkin to her upon exiting and suggested that we should hang out sometime, she seemed agreeable.

I never heard from her.

Perth: 2

Arielle: 0

(at this particular point in time. I assure you, friends were eventually made.)

I'm just going to make copies of these and carry them with me, along with tape, to every place we sail.  Problem solved.

I’m just going to make copies of these and carry them with me, along with tape, to every place we sail. Problem solved.

11 responses to “How Not to Make Friends in Perth: Part 2

  1. Girlfriend, I just discovered your blog and LOVE it. Seriously, I thought I had the coolest job ever as an au pair in Sevilla, Spain… but heck, your job looks awesome! My “dream” one day has been to live on a yacht for some time. Maybe this is what I need to do once my year is up here in June. By the way, we’re both from the same general area- I’m from Fairfax, VA!

    ❤ Dominique

    http://www.theadventuresofholly.wordpress.com

  2. This made me laugh. I’m trying to think how I’d react if someone slipped me their name and number on a napkin. Alarmed, probably. It made me think about how I usually make friends, and you know what? I don’t know how! It just happens.

    I’m new to your blog, too, btw, and am so envious of your job. LUCKY!

    • Thanks! It was one of those things where it didn’t seem weird until as soon as I handed it over and walked out the door. You don’t really think about how to make friends until you’re on your own in a foreign country!

  3. I’m from Perth and have lived here since I was a toddler. Now I’m a working professional after completing a hectic university course. I did have a gap year and saw Europe where people were quite lovely, open and cultured. I realised how inherently distant people of Perth can be upon returning; really angry drivers, competitive university students constantly concerned with marks or popularity, cliquey people obsessed with facebook. I wouldn’t try too hard to become a Perthian as it doesn’t seem to be a positive thing. I have my gems of friends I’ve maintained over several years as well as my cousins, but all in all Perth is really an expanding small town where people have never truly had to be socially adept and welcoming. I can only imagine how miserable it can make a newcomer feel. Anyway I don’t know how I managed to stumble onto this blog, but I’m sorry you had a bad experience and hope the little insight provided helped a bit. I’ll probably end up moving to another city to be honest haha, but who knows… maybe as Perth expands and there is a huge influx of strangers, people here will be more open to giving people a chance to be a part of this community.

  4. HAHA. this is great. I was featured on the that site as well, and of course had to read all of the other entries. Stalked your blog a bit, and saw the entry on Perth, which is coincidentally where I’m living now. I understand the frustration! I’ve made all nanny friends.. gasp.. online. talk about desperation. and the worst part? they all just happen to be other Americans or Canadian. FAIL.

    • This is too funny! All of my friends I see every time I go back are non aussies as well! It really is terrible… However, the rest of the crew onboard are all from Perth and we get on just like family! It’s just a funny city, people-wise.

Leave a Reply

