A Sunday Sesh in Fremantle

As I sit here watching the rain cast a dreary film over the quaint harbor in Victoria, BC with E napping silently upstairs (I better not be jinxing it), all I can think of is what I would do for a Sunday session in Fremantle.

Americans love a good ‘Sunday Funday’; Australians fancy a ‘Sunday Sesh’. Pretty much across the globe, people like Sundays.

A proper “Sunday Sesh”, as it is so aptly abbreviated by our good friends down under, is a hazy mix of friends, food and good brews. What’s not to love? While on Australia’s west coast, taking a dip down to Cottlesloe for drinks at the OBH is usually preferred, but I’m a big fan of a good natured run around in Fremantle (also not short on brews). Follow my lead, and you won’t be sorry. (Don’t worry about having a designated driver- the Transperth train runs right into the heart of Fremantle!)

First take a necessary frolic in the park to soak in the realization of the perfect day you are about to have:

Don't look too closely; jumping mid-motion isn't my best pose.

Don’t look too closely; jumping mid-motion isn’t my best pose.

You are going to want to stock up on some snacks with all the drinking (and further frolicking) you have planned so make a pit stop at Kakulas Sister on the main road to grab a bag full of my personal favorite, dried strawberries. They are like little bursts of heaven; you’ll thank me later. Plus, it’s nice to have a stash of healthy sugar rush snacks at your disposal. They’re healthy…shh:

Overly excited about organic fruit snacks.

Overly excited about organic fruit snacks.

If you are anything like my friends and I, it will have taken you an excessive amount of time to actually leave for your day out so you are going to be starving and in need of sustenance (beyond what dried strawberries can provide). Little Creatures Brewery on the water is going to look like a viable solution, but only if you are keen to wait around for a half hour before a waitress even comes to say hello. The remedy: The Monk Brewery and Kitchen on the main street. You won’t find views of the water but you will find good food, even better home brews, and a great spot to people watch. Sit outside, but make sure you’ve slathered on the SPF 50 because the sun down under is no joke:

The Monk Brewery and Kitchen also serves up a huge Paella on the deck and it smells incredible.

The Monk Brewery and Kitchen also serves up a huge Paella on the deck and it smells incredible.

Get in my belly.

Get in my belly.

An Aussie staple: The Steak Sandwich

An Aussie staple: The Steak Sandwich

After filling your bellies with steak sandwiches and cold drinks, the obvious next stop is more drinking. It is Sunday, after all. Walk about 15 steps right across the street to Sail & Anchor for cocktails and a beer sampler from their expansive beer menu. You can pick and choose your samples but we let the bartender surprise us because we like to live on the edge. Take your liquid smorgasbord upstairs to the balcony to watch live street performances below:

If you look closely, the "food pairing" suggestion is "cigars and poker".  Call me a fatty, but that's not food.  Either way, it was good.

If you look closely, the “food pairing” suggestion is “cigars and poker”. Call me a fatty, but that’s not food. Either way, it was good.

Obviously we had to try the cocktails too.  This is me with my Saudi/Scottish friend, N.

Obviously we had to try the cocktails too. This is me with my Saudi/Scottish friend, N.

That's the Sail & Anchor balcony in the background.

That’s the Sail & Anchor balcony in the background.

When you’ve decided you’ve got enough of a buzz going on, walk another 15 steps to the Fremantle Markets. Who doesn’t love a good market? Even if they aren’t your thing, you’ll have had anywhere between 1-10 (listen, I’m not judging) drinks at this point so you’ll be excited for just about anything. Open almost every day, the Fremantle Markets are a must visit if you find yourself in the area. Stroll around and check out all of the goods (and of course food) available. You won’t regret it.

I head straight to the kangaroo jerky stand every time.  Are you even surprised? Kangaroo is delicious.  Sorry little buddies!

I head straight to the kangaroo jerky stand every time. Are you even surprised? Kangaroo is delicious. Sorry little buddies!

Just make sure you  don't get your toothpicks from the "used" jar for your samples or you'll end up having to sterilize your mouth like this.  Is it surprising we had a bottle of vodka on hand?

Just make sure you don’t get your toothpicks from the “used” jar for your samples or you’ll end up having to sterilize your mouth like this. Is it surprising we had a bottle of vodka on hand?

Finally, stumble your way back to the train station with full bellies and possibly ridiculous buzz induced market purchases (cough, didgeridoo). Wash, rinse, and repeat next Sunday.

9 responses to “A Sunday Sesh in Fremantle

  1. Ok this is gettin me pretty excited about the fact I’m about to be moving here!! lol How are the prices over there??? Compared to the states (beers, burgers, living etc)

    • Definitely more expensive but you might be alright with accommodations. Food and drinks are going to be expensive (think around $10 for a beer and about $50 for a bottle of Smirnoff) but you can drink cheaper stuff and find things at the grocery store for decent prices. There’s so much free stuff to do though, especially in the summer (beach!)

  2. Um.. we could definitely be best friends. Yep. I’m the girl that annoyingly commented on your Perth post, and might comment on a few others if I can’t keep myself from stalking this blog.

    I moved here from Wisconsin to become a nanny for the year. Totally get the whole addiction to travel, and your blog writing sounds SO much like mine.

    And I love these!! I wish you were still in the area. I’ve become quite the Sunday sesh Queen. Freo is it’s own little slice of heaven. And sunsets on the beach after OBH? don’t even get me started.

    P.S. you’re right about the sunscreen :).

    check me out at writingandwanderlust.com if you’re interested! And if they ever need another nanny on the yacht, make sure to put in a good word for me ;). Keep living your dreams. Sounds like one hell of an adventure.

    • It’s so crazy that I JUST missed you as I was in Perth for almost two months and only just left literally the day before you posted this comment. Would have been absolutely crazy to meet up and it does sound like we would be fast friends for sure.

      Love your site as well, it’s really fun to see someone having similar experiences as a young American girl in Perth. At 26 am I still allowed to call myself young…? Am I allowed to cry for five minutes over the fact that I even just questioned that…?

      So lovely to meet you in cyber world!

      • I know. Just my luck! And yes, you’re allowed to call yourself young until you hit 40, in my opinion :). Best of luck on your journey! What a great opportunity.

      • So, I MAY be back in Perth for a month in August… will you still be around?! Please say yes. Also, I may or may not have seen some of your status updates about men in Perth and I think we could DEFINITELY be best friends. My. Feelings. Exactly. 😛

      • EEE! Unfortunately, I’ll only be here for a few weeks and then I’m moving to New Zealand. I haven’t booked my ticket yet, but I’m probably leaving mid August. Perhaps a quick catch up though :)! I plan to write an entire blog entry about the men here. such a disappointment. The accent lost it’s novelty real quick, and that was their only saving grace. If I see one more short sleeved button up with weird hawaiian prints on them, I might cry. And men selfies? PUKE. you can add me on fb if you want! Might be easier to keep in touch that way :). LOVE your blog too! I’ve been showing it to all of my Perth buddies. We’re big fans! Keep up the awesome writing.

Leave a Reply

