My Travel Addiction

Leo, I'm right there with ya.

Leo, I’m right there with ya.

I don’t know where exactly my wanderlust came from. It could be having lived in Italy for my first few years of life as a result of my dad being stationed there with the US Navy. Likewise, it could be a result of my mom’s adventuresome personality which seems to have manifested itself in my own being. All I know is that I’ve been happily afflicted as far back as I can remember and that working on the boat has been the perfect antidote.

in San Marino doing what I do best

In San Marino, Italy doing what I do best

It’s a funny thing when you get a taste of travel. Call it being bitten by the ‘travel bug’ or simply an addiction; once you get a taste, it’s hard to stay put ever again. People always ask me when I’m going to be home next or when I’m going to finish traveling and honestly, I have no idea. When it comes to the world, I want to see everything and do everything. It’s become more than an addiction; it’s a necessity.

travel1

Even if/when I stop this traveling/nomadic lifestyle, I still see constant vacations and trips in my future (providing I live well enough within my means, thus allowing for it). Whether it be day trips or international jaunts, I don’t plan on stopping.

Occasionally I miss the simple pleasures of being at home but I know myself well enough to recognize my restless spirit. Sometimes my wanderlust feels like a curse; watching my friends back home settle into routines, get engaged, enjoy and bemoan their 9-5 lives simultaneously. In a strange way, I feel like I’m missing out.

But the things I’m “missing out” on will always be there waiting for me if I really want them.

And if you’re lucky, you’ll have incredible friends and family who understand why you’re always gone.

travel2

When I was younger, I always thought that I’d want to have kids in my mid-twenties as my parents were both significantly older when they had my brother and I. I think about the years ahead and occasionally stifle the fleeting thought that they might not be around for certain milestones if I continue to push them farther into the future (marriage, kids, etc.). Yet as my 25th birthday approaches in the next few weeks, I can’t imagine doing any of those things anytime soon (thank you E for continually being my living, breathing reminder of life after children). I guess I’m a lot like my parents and I am understanding more and more the paths they both took as I take a similar route.

I feel like I’m starting to lose track of my thoughts, but I guess what I’m trying to say is, if you’re going to be addicted to something, a life of travel really isn’t the worst option (at least not so far… knock on wood). There are always going to be things to miss out on, but the pros seem to outweigh the cons, and by letting go of socially accepted structure and the notion of what life should be like, you open the path for incredible adventures. Who knows, maybe in my thirties I’ll meet someone while volunteering in California and we’ll end up having a daughter who’ll be as curious about the world as I am, thus continuing the family tradition.

Or maybe not. We’ll see where life takes me.

in my element in Valparaiso, Chile

In my element in Valparaiso, Chile

9 responses to “My Travel Addiction

  1. So glad to hear the optimism in this ruminant (even if your muse is Leododo Di Poopio). It’s not always easy being alone, but at least you get to determine your own itinerary on a whim. Life will settle you down soon enough, though — fight the urge for as long as you can; spread your wings and soar. ILY

    • Leonardo can do no wrong, but I digress.

      However, I’d hardly say that I get to determine my own itinerary. Maybe if I wasn’t working on someone else’s floating summer home, then I’d have more say! But I do get what you’re saying and I’m reminded how good I have it every time the other couples on board have to compromise on what to see and do πŸ™‚ ILYM

  2. Hmmm….. I’m still processing the “significantly older” comment! ;>) It seems these days starting a family in your 30’s is the norm. If you look around at your friend’s parents you will see that we were all really trendsetters! Just remember #1, whatever makes you happy and a few bucks is all we ever wanted for you and #2. Follow your bliss!! Love you!

  3. What a wonderful and well thought-out post – I echo this full heatedly — “by letting go of socially accepted structure and the notion of what life should be like, you open the path for incredible adventures.”

    At 26, that is something my partner and I are always struggling with – making sure to not just fit nicely into the little box that society gives us – we are constantly checking in to make sure we are following our hearts and not getting stuck into the path of car loans, mortgage loans, kids…etc. when we’re not ready.

    I really really admire people like you who follow their heart where it takes them and don’t follow the path that others and society tell them they “should” do — WHATEVER it may be…

    The world is so wide and wonderful – full of mystery and unknowns, and things to learn about that will enrich our lives.
    Cheers! Here’s to adventure!

  4. It sounds like a great life. Go for it! Like you said, the settling-down, ;life-at-home will always be there if you choose that later. If I had my way, I’d travel full-time, too. I stopped somewhere along the way to raise a family, but am looking for a nomadic life again in the future. For now, I just jump at any chance to explore the world and take them with me. πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve lived a (and will continue to live) a bit of an unconventional life as well and I used to think that I was missing out on a more traditional life as well. Then I tried it out–I got an office job for a few years, settled in, and realized that while I loved the stability of the paycheck, the traditional life is the most boring place ever!

    I know that some of my friends that have quickly settled into the traditional life feel trapped in it but I have some that love it. I think you’re right in that you should just follow what you enjoy doing and not worry about the rest!

    • I feel like I would have a similar reaction if I tried out a traditional job at this point as well. The problem is, I like to try all sorts of things on for size, so that adds to the feeling of “missing out”. It’s not like I can go back to my early twenties in a few year and experience that fresh-out-of-college yuppie lifestyle, but that’s the trade-off, I guess. In the grand scheme of things, I don’t think I’ll regret it πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the comment and let’s both keep enjoying what we do!

  6. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

