Why My Life Isn’t Really A Vacation

I paint a really nice picture on here and on my Facebook page of a life full of adventure, beautiful scenery and endless fun but that’s because nobody wants to see ugly marinas, exploding diapers and lazy evenings in sweats.  The reality is that the two go hand in hand.

Just outside of our marina in Bali where I had to carry rocks in case one of the local rabid dogs decided to chase me.  Which happened more than I'd like to remember.

Just outside of our marina in Bali where I had to carry rocks in case one of the local rabid dogs decided to chase me. Which happened more than I’d like to remember.

The truth is, I work just as much as anyone else, I just choose to do it in various locales around the globe.  I don’t have to frequent the same stale happy hours and gyms in the same city day in and day out; I get to switch it up and run along beaches, seawalls, and trails.  I get to try authentic cuisines from around the world.  However, I still work like everyone else.

Not only do I work like many of you, the job isn’t always rainbows and butterflies either.  I’ve told you about the times I’ve felt lonely, the times when I’ve been lovesick, and the times when I’ve been literally sick.  There are perks and pitfalls with every profession.

In fact, one way I probably need more of a vacation than you (you being the ones reading this from your cubicles/offices/desks) is that unlike you, I don’t get to “go home” at the end of the day.  I live at my job.  So even though I do get to see amazing sights and have unforgettable experiences, I’m almost always “at the office”.  It’s not like I can complain much about my dwelling, but after two years of sharing a confined space with your employers and coworkers, you would be ready for a “real” vacation too.

I’ve already waxed poetic (I’ve really been wanting to say that) about how much I love my coworkers and employers and how wonderfully we all get along and coexist but subconsciously it can become a bit stifling after awhile.  Also, two year olds are no walk in the park.  Sometimes you just need to check out, regroup and escape.

So that’s why I can’t WAIT to be reunited with my best friend in MAUI for a whole 10 days next week.  A week of relaxing in paradise, soaking up the sun, sharing memories with someone who has been a major part of my life, and not having one single worry about work.  I don’t have to wake up on my days off feeling guilty about others working around me, or feel like I have to be productive as to not insult everyone else who is busy with other obligations.  No diapers, no runny noses, and no dirty dishes.  And you know what?  I deserve it.

Bye porthole, see ya in a bit.

Bye porthole, see ya in a bit.

ALOHA.

4 responses to “Why My Life Isn’t Really A Vacation

Leave a Reply

