Two Year Travelversary!

I can hardly believe it’s been two years since I took that one way flight to Ft. Lauderdale with visions of grand adventure on the horizon.  I guess it’s true that time flies when you’re having fun!  Year one was amazing and year two hasn’t been so bad either.  Here are some of my memorable moments from the latest year of adventure onboard the Loveboat M/Y Little Mermaid At Sea:

1. Visiting my best friend in Chile on my first ever trip to South America

Pardon the finger blur; I asked some kind older french ladies to take this one (IN FRENCH!).  Who knew that A. My French minor would come in handy? and B. That I'd be using it in Chile? (And C. that their photo taking skills would be merde).

Pardon the finger blur; I asked some kind older french ladies to take this one (IN FRENCH!). Who knew that A. My French minor would come in handy? and B. That I’d be using it in Chile? (And C. that their photo taking skills would be merde).

This also includes the roughly 48 hour long trip from Singapore it took to get there but it was worth it to see my best friend and some of the most incredible street art in the world.  Oh, and the food was good too.  You know how I love my food.

2. Dogsledding in Alaska

Mush!

Mush!

I can’t talk this one up enough.

3. Seeing the Tian Tan Buddha in Hong Kong

I swear I was trying to convey a "high five" and not an infamous german gesture circa 1940...

I swear I was trying to convey a “high five” and not an infamous german gesture circa 1940…

See more highlights from my Hong Kong trip which include a creeper and getting made fun of for using chopsticks poorly here .

4. Taking my first (of many) float plane ride

One of the bigger float planes I rode in.

One of the bigger float planes I rode in.

5. Taking my first (and second) helicopter ride

helicopter

6. Mingling with the bears in Alaska

Terrifying and cute at the same time.  I'd like to master that contradiction...

Terrifying and cute at the same time. I’d like to master that contradiction…

Narrowing down photos of the bears was so hard for this one; see some other noteworthy favorites here.

7. Experiencing life with our owners onboard

AKA hiding below deck for a month straight.

AKA hiding below deck for a month straight.

8. Snorkeling/surfing with sea turtles in Maui

"Duuuuude, Mr. Turtle is my faaaaather."

“Duuuuude, Mr. Turtle is my faaaaather.”

9. Driving the Road to Hana

Sepia toned for hipster approval.

Sepia toned for hipster approval.

With it’s twists, turns, one way bridges and blind curves, this drive was memorable for more than just the incredible scenery.

10. Paragliding in Maui

WE DID IT

WE DID IT

11. Basically my entire Maui trip

Sorry for assaulting your eyes with such a hideous view.

Sorry for assaulting your eyes with such a hideous view.

Because it really was THAT good. And because I hate narrowing things down.

12. Seeing a glacier calve in Alaska

If you look closely, you will see that the whole face of the glacier is falling into the water.

If you look closely, you will see that the whole face of the glacier is falling into the water.

Actually, this was one of the most incredible things I’ve ever seen in person.  We saw a lot of glacier calving while we were in Alaska, but this was by far the most impressive show.  We waited about two hours to see it, but it was well worth it.  The monster wave that ensued was simply a bonus.

13. Conquering the Grouse Grind in Vancouver

Okay, I know this is only a picture of the half way point but I promise I finished! TWICE!

Okay, I know this is only a picture of the half way point but I promise I finished! TWICE! (Pardon the sweaty face/body/hair).

The Grouse Grind is affectionately (or not so affectionately) nicknamed “Mother Nature’s Stairmaster”.  Do with that what you will.  I finished in 40 minutes; eat my dust.

14. Reuniting with loved ones after a year away (which I get to do again in three weeks!)

So. Much. Love.

So. Much. Love.

It’s nice to be loved and missed 🙂

…CHEERS TO THE BEGINNING OF YEAR THREE!!

8 responses to “Two Year Travelversary!

Leave a Reply

