Yachtie Essentials

When I got my new Kindle in the mail (which in itself was a huge ordeal, thank you no-permanent-address life) it got me thinking about all the gadgets I’ve introduced to my life as a result of living and working on a yacht. No longer do iphone cameras and stacks of paperbacks make the cut. Living in a confined space and traveling constantly means taking advantage of modern technology and it’s many conveniences. It also helps that the paycheck makes it all the more feasible. Anyway, if you want to work on a yacht, get your hands on these ASAP:

Unlocked phone

This might only be a big one for Americans since most other countries and their service providers aren’t so stingy with unlocking their cell phones but if you are going to be cruising around international ports, you’re going to have to get your hands on one. You might have to shell out a pretty penny at first, but buying sim cards to go into your smart phone ends up being a much better deal than buying a new flip phone everywhere you go. Or maybe I’m just a brat.

Kindle (or other e-reader)

This one might only apply to book nerds but I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: you have VERY limited living space on a yacht. Regardless of how big the yacht itself is, storing your collection of Shakespeare’s completed works (No? That’s just me?) is just not an option. Having a kindle has been a saving grace for it’s compact size and storage capacity. I’ve got at least 30 books on that bad boy… hello nerdy boys 🙂

I wasn't kidding.

This is where I’m supposed to be storing my clothes. Oops.

Camera

No, not your iphone camera*; shell out for a fancy DSLR. Resist all you want, but those sunsets around the world are just captured so much better through the lens of a legitimate (albeit pricey) camera. I don’t care if it’s a Nikon or Canon, you just want one good enough so that the pictures you post to make all your friends back home jealous (you know you do it) aren’t blurry or pixelated.

As if I could have captured this with my iphone...

As if I could have captured this with my iphone…

Polarized Sunglasses

Do you want to be partially blind at 35 years old? I didn’t think so. Do yourself a favor and buy a pair of polarized sunglasses. Really, that goes for anyone but working on a yacht, you are subject to glare from the water’s surface far more than the average joe. Your eyes will thank you, you’ll thank me, we’ll all hold hands and sing Kumbaya.

They may not be the cutest or girliest sunnies but I can SEE  and ladies, that's what really matters.

They may not be the cutest or girliest sunnies but I can SEE and ladies, that’s what really matters.

You could probably also get a super intense watch that gives you information on the tides like our engineer has (mostly so he knows how the surf is…) or some other nifty gadgets that I don’t even know about but this about sums it up for me.

*don’t get me wrong, I love my iphone (I totally drank the Apple kool-aid) and love using it to take pictures as well. Check out my instagram pics @littlemermaidatsea

6 responses to “Yachtie Essentials

  1. I whole heartedly agree here. I can never stress polarized glasses enough. Plus, the world through brown polarized lenses is so much prettier!

    The only other suggestions I can make are Skype on your iPhone… yep, I am a full fruit punch Kool-Aid drinker myself… and audiobooks. When I’m doing mundane tasks, say ironing, I put in my earbuds and listen to all of my books! Ain’t nobody got time for lounging around and reading! Try an Audible membership.

    • I’m SUPER lucky and actually get ample time to read… plus I’m an addict anyway. I’ll definitely look into audiobooks though, thanks for the suggestion!
      Also, I was totally planning on adding “Skype” to my list of essential APPS haha. You’re one step ahead of me!

  2. How did you get the package to be sent to you? My boyfriend works on a yacht and I’m trying to figure out how to get something to him..any help would be great.

    • If he knows he will be docked at a certain marina for long enough for a package to reach him, you can often send them the marina’s office. I’d check with the marina beforehand as well and then address with his name and then “c/o” and the marina’s name.

      • Yeah that’s a good idea! Maybe I’ll try that…I wanted to surprise him so that may be a little more difficult but it seems to be the plan.

Leave a Reply

