Below Deck: Season Nope.

I share a lot with you guys on here but the catch is that I get to choose which stories I want to put out there for the world to read. That is precisely why I chose to take myself out of the running for a spot on Below Deck season 2.

That’s right, yours truly was interviewed to be a cast member on season two of Below Deck.

It was an exciting opportunity and definitely a bit flattering but ultimately I decided that it was most definitely, absolutely, 100% wrong for me.

Okay, so maybe not 100%, i’ll admit there was a small part of me that thought it would be an exciting, once in a lifetime experience but it was so trumped by the potential for being portrayed in a not so flattering light for all the world to SEE (not just read) without my input in the editing room. I know myself, I know how I would be potentially typecast and ultimately, it wasn’t worth it to me.

I think there’s a lot to be said for living in the moment but I think our generation, and that of the generation behind us (and on and on…) live in a world where “living in the moment” can have disastrous repercussions. I mean, thank the universe Youtube wasn’t around when I was a kid and the “songs” I would record by myself in my room are merely on cassettes that are likely in the bottom of a shoebox in my closet at my parents house. But even that is a fiercely tame example compared to the embarrassment and character shaming I’ve seen happen for young men and women in reality television. There are people out there who will only see you as dollar signs.

I’m not saying at all that this is what I think of the casting or production companies behind Below Deck, only that I decided it was in my best interest to never find out.

Plus, I happen to like the job I have now an awful lot ๐Ÿ™‚

See, I get to show you this picture from the crew house... but keep to myself what happened after it was all gone :)

See, I get to show you this picture from the crew house in Ft. Lauderdale… but keep to myself what happened during and after it’s consumption ๐Ÿ™‚

9 responses to “Below Deck: Season Nope.

  1. That is SUCH a good realization to have before doing the interview. You’re so right – they could choose to portray you in a good light, or a bad one, but you really wouldn’t have a say in which it is. Props to you girl!

    • I actually did do the interview which pretty much solidified any preconceived notions I had about doing the show. If I wasn’t comfortable with full disclosure during the interview, there was NO way I could agree to doing the show. Oy.

  2. Glad you didn’t. I kept getting calls when they were trying to get the show off paper and onto film. I politely declined every time. After the season aired, I realized I lived in the same building/same floor as Adrienne (whom I already knew). No matter how she smiles about it, she confessed it was a horrible experience.

    Let’s keep yachting real!

    • Not surprised actually but interesting to hear! I guess that’s what happens when you place an actual yachtie in charge of a bunch of rookies who are probably more excited about being on a reality tv show about yachting than actually working on a yacht.

      Fist bump?

  3. Totally agree with this sentiment, and good on you for having enough maturity and foresight to see how this could affect your life past the initial excitement of being on tv. Although new to yachting, I refuse to watch a “reality” show based on sensationalizing a hard working industry. Amen sista.

Leave a Reply

